More Thoughts on My Patronus

Part 1

I have to admit, if I take a step back and look at it critically, the things we generally associate with cats are pretty much spot-on. Cats are somehow solitary and social at the same time, showing affection towards their owners while avoiding strangers, something that I can identify with as what I like to call an “introverted people person”. They’re generally thought of as clever, maybe because they spend so much time curled up quietly, as if they were deep in thought. They’ve been interpreted so many different ways over the course of history, and while they’re common house pets, they’re also the close relatives of dangerous predators. I find that sort of contradiction absolutely fascinating. When I Googled “cat symbolism”, I connected right away with most of what I found: wisdom, adaptability, independence, mystery. I’d probably be happy to have a cat patronus, if I wasn’t allergic to them.

But I don’t know. It’s hard to connect happy memories and inner strength with an animal that makes me sneeze if I so much as go in a room where it’s been.

Part 3

2 thoughts on “More Thoughts on My Patronus

  1. Pingback: My Patronus, Part 3 – The Hogwarts Pensieve

  2. Pingback: My Patronus – The Hogwarts Pensieve

Leave a Reply

