My Patronus

… is a sphynx cat, according to Pottermore.

I wasn’t thrilled, for reasons that a quiz like this one could never have predicted. I’m allergic to cats. So when I think of them, I don’t think of my happiest memories, I think of the puffy eyes and runny nose they give me. Even as cats go, sphynx cats are kind of ugly, hairless ones. I’ve loved my results on Pottermore quizzes in the past: my Hogwarts house, my wand, even my Ilvermorny house, although those are so vague and unknown that it’s hard to have a strong preference. Patronuses are not vague or unknown. They’re such a big part of the Harry Potter series that I would imagine most fans have wondered or speculated on what their patronus would be.

The Pottermore article – no doubt expecting cases like mine – says it’s not uncommon for witches or wizards to produce “Patronuses in forms that their casters might not expect, for which they have never felt a particular affinity, or (in rare cases) even recognise”. Apparently this is because “a human confronted with inhuman evil, such as the Dementor, must draw upon resources he or she may never have needed, and the Patronus is the awakened secret self that lies dormant until needed, but which must now be brought to light”. So maybe a patronus isn’t supposed to be an animal you like. Maybe it’s more of a secret weapon.

I’m still not particularly happy that Pottermore thinks my patronus is a hairless cat.

You can read the two follow-ups here and here

4 thoughts on “My Patronus

  1. Pingback: My Patronus, Part 3 – The Hogwarts Pensieve

  2. Pingback: More Thoughts on My Patronus – The Hogwarts Pensieve

  3. I’m allergic to cats too, and I got a Manx Cat as my patronus, so maybe it’s a theme all the people allergic to cats get cats. But I guess I could never become an animagus cause I would make myself sneeze, lol! I wonder if Professor McGonagall is allergic to cats.

    Like

Leave a Reply

